The Lane Early Learning Alliance Governance Consortium serves as the governing body of the Lane Early Learning Alliance. Membership includes representatives from Lane County Government, parent representatives, and five designated community sectors: health, K-12 education, early education and pre-kindergarten, social/human services, and business and community leaders.


2019 – 2020 Governance Consortium Members


Gustavo Balderas, Eugene 4J School District

Marian Blankenship, PacificSource Health Plans

Reta Doland, Oakridge School District

Noreen J. Dunnells, United Way of Lane County

Debi Farr, Trillium Community Health Plan

Karen Gaffney, Lane County Government

Tina Gutierez-Schmich, Bethel School District

Todd Hamilton, Springfield Public Schools

John Lively, Oregon State Representative

Jenny Mendoza, Eugene Suzuki Music Academy,                            Early Learning Stakeholders Representative

Judy Newman, Early Childhood CARES

Sue Norton, Lane Community College

Chris Parra, Bethel School District

Darcy Phillips, Cornerstone Community Housing

John Radich, Department of Human Services

George Russell, Community Leader 

Lise Schellman, Pearl Buck Center,                                                                                   Early Learning Stakeholders Representative

Tony Scurto, Lane Education Service District

Annie Soto, Head Start of Lane County

John Stapleton, PIVOT Architecture

Jocelyn Warren, Lane County Health & Human Services



Governance Consortium meetings are considered public meetings and therefore are open to the public as required under ORS 192.630. Click here to view the meeting agenda, materials, and notes. Meetings are held the 2nd Friday of each month, from 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm at Early Childhood CARES (1500 West 12th Ave, Eugene, OR 97402). However, the ELA Governance Consortium does not meet in July, August, or November.